Sicily seeks administrative overhaul

The coat of arms of Sicily.

The coat of arms of Sicily.

Sicily is an Italian Autonomous Region, endowed with extensive powers in the field of its own territorial administration.

After facing bankruptcy, it is now ruled by a leftist Government informally supported by the Five Stars Movement, something that the Democratic Party is unsuccessfully trying to put in place also in the divided national Parliament.

The Sicilian Government has now adopted a Bill that, if approved by the Sicilian Parliament, would dissolve all the nine Sicilian Provinces: Trapani, Palermo, Agrigento, Caltanissetta, Enna, Messina, Catania, Siracusa and Ragusa.

The move is aimed at saving administrative costs.

At the national level Mr Monti’s Government tried, unsuccessfully, to reduce the number of Italian Provinces, which are currently 110. It should be noted that some of these Entities were created in the last decades.

Italian Provinces are ruled by an elected President, but in a much criticized duplication they also host a Government-appointed Prefect.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s